ITIL History On the Timeline

Here is the history of ITIL given on the timeline.

Data from the source :

1972: IBM starts research on quality service delivery called information Systems Management Architecture (ISMA).
1980: IBM publishes Volume I of the IBM Management series titled “A management System for the Information Business”, first public edition of ISMA.
1986: CCTA authorizes a program to develop a common set of operational guidance with the objective of increasing efficiencies in Government IT.
1988: “Government Infrastructure Management Method (GITMM)”, is formalized and issued as ‘guidelines’ for Government IT operations in the UK focused on Service Level Management. Same year, the development team was expanded and work continued on Cost, Capacity, and Availability.
1989: GITMM title is inadequate. It is not a method, (last M), and it should lose its G letter in order to be marketable out of government. Renamed to ITIL.
1989: First ‘ITIL’ book published, Service Level Management, then Help Desk (incorporating the concepts of Incident Management), Contingency Planning, and Change Management. Books had 50-70 pages.
1990: Problem Management, Configuration Management and Cost Management for IT Services published.
1991: Published – Software Control & Distribution, on 89 pages.
1992: Availability Management, 69 pages.
1996: (July) First ITIL Service Manager class delivered in US by US company, ITSMI, 16 attended, 10 candidates, nine passes, one distinction, first US company authorized as an ITIL accredited course provider – ITSMI.
1997: Customer focused update to the Service Level Management book, 106 pages.
1997: ITIMF legally becomes what we know today as the IT Service Management Forum (itSMF UK).
2000: Service Support V2 published, 306 pages.
2001: Service Delivery V2 published, 376 pages.
2001: CCTA became a part of the Office of Government Commerce (OGC)
2002: Application Management, 158 pages, Planning to Implement IT Service Management, 208 pages and ICT Infrastructure Management, 283 pages, published.
2003: Software Asset Management, 146 pages, published .
2004: Business Perspective: The IS View on Delivering Services to the Business, published, 180 pages.
2006: (June) ITIL Glossary V2 published
2006: (June) APM Group Limited announced as preferred bidder of ITIL accreditation & certification program, over the itSMF International (expectant winner)
2007: (May) ITIL V3 five core books published.

* Data based on third party reference as per the source

via Blogger

This entry was posted in IT Help Desk Software, ITIL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ITIL History On the Timeline

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s